The Secret Life of Blue Boy

Blue Boy

Yesterday I spent nearly an hour gazing at this famous painting, Blue Boy. Now, now, no need to be jealous. I was not at the Louvre, the Met or the National Gallery of Art.

Can you guess where I was? Never mind, you’ll never guess.

I was at a local tire shop, getting the oil in my car changed and there, hanging on the wall between the row of vending machines and Kelly Ripa blabbing away on the tv, hung what I will assume to be a reproduction of Blue Boy. He was gazing with bemusement at the small crowd gathered in the tire shop waiting area, juxtaposed with posters of the rolly polly Michelin Man.

I pondered. Is Blue Boy auditioning to be the next Michelin Man? Is the Michelin Man the secret love child of Blue Boy and an unknown marshmallow-woman? Is the owner of the tire shop trying to introduce classic art to the masses? Was this unassuming building formerly a secret art museum? Was the waiting area professionally decorated by the owner of the local flea market? Was I hallucinating from the powerful rubber smell of new tires?

See the family resemblance?

See the family resemblance?

We may never know. But at least I got the oil changed. 

26 thoughts on “The Secret Life of Blue Boy

  1. I have heard that the Blue Boy was a dirty dog…the Michelin Man could very well be his secret love child. It is surprising to me that this local business owner would condone the blending of two species in such a way. Could he be proudly showcasing family portraits? ☺

  2. That’s too funny! If I was going to guess at a piece of classical art most likely to adorn the walls of a tire shop, the Blue Boy would have been pretty much my last guess. But maybe I should go and buy a Caravaggio reproduction to hang in my garage. Or a velvet Elvis…

  3. Could this be a sparkling good entry? Why yes, I think so! :) Auto repair places sometimes have the funniest surprises…I also remember learning about this specific painting in school, with its interesting use of a “cool” color, usually reserved for the background of paintings, painted in the foreground. I like, I like. Thanks for the smile. Best, Christine

  4. What this tells me is that fine art appreciation knows no socio-economic barriers. Either that or you get your oil changed at Oxford.

    Thanks for reminding me my “oil change” light has been on for … a while.

  5. I always liked that painting. My mother had a large art book and that is one of the paintings that always stuck with me. Maybe it did for the owner of that place, too… By the way, sorry I haven’t been around–my life has changed in some ways and my free time is more limited these days.

Leave a Reply

