Where Have I Been?

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t posted much on my blog lately. You may or may not have been wondering what I’ve been up to instead. Well, I’ve been spending less time here:

Of course, this is not me. I have more hair and I never work topless.

Of course, this is not me. I have more hair and I never work topless.

And a whole lot of time here:

Sacred Space Yoga Studio, Mount Airy, NC

Sacred Space Yoga Studio, Mount Airy, NC

This past summer, a yoga studio opened here in Mayberry. You might not think that Mayberry is a likely place for yoga to take off and admittedly, Aunt Bea has not yet donned yoga pants and tried a class, but surprisingly, Mayberry has embraced yoga in a big way. Because the truth is that yoga is for just about everybody – all ages, sizes, shapes and abilities (or lack thereof).

I had never done yoga before, but I started taking some classes. Then I took more classes and now I can’t seem to stop.  In fact, I’ve become such a fan and spend so much time there that I’m now the Director of Communications for Sacred Space. It’s the perfect job for me – I can continue to freelance for other clients, I can set my own hours, perform my duties in the comfort of yoga pants (okay, I always write and work in yoga pants, but now I write and work in yoga pants that I’ve actually worn to yoga, so they’re sort of like an official uniform), and I get the remarkable perk of unlimited yoga classes.

If you’ve never tried yoga, you may think it’s only for young, thin, flexible women who look super annoyingly cute in yoga clothes.  I am none of those things and neither are most of the people who practice yoga. You simply show up and start from where you are and you’ll likely end up feeling calmer, more energized and, as one of our clients said, “we leave your studio feeling like a better version of ourselves.”

If you’re ever Mount Airy, NC, come on in and do some yoga with us – we’ll make y’all feel right at home!

35 thoughts on “Where Have I Been?

  1. Yoga has been on my mind a lot lately. The past several years working from home in front of the computer has wreaked havoc with my health and well being. My activity level has dropped by about 1000%. Things keep popping up at me like this post that has yoga positioned as the physical activity that may help and that I may be able to tolerate right now. I’m pleased you blend your worlds to work out so well for you.

    • It helps tremendously with all sorts of health issues. Some of the people who benefit the most are people with chronic illnesses, people recovering from injuries and people dealing with all sorts of mental health issues (anxiety, depression, etc). Let me know if you decide to try it. I’ll be thinking of you!

  2. Nice to see you back, and I’m glad you’re loving your yoga! I still do some (highly modified) yoga, and I love the benefits to my body and mind, but unfortunately any positions with hands flat on the floor are a thing of the past since the ligament repairs in my wrist. So bye-bye Downward Dog (which was one of my faves). Sigh.

    • Hi Diane! I am just now starting to make friends with Downward Dog – we did not get along well at the beginning. (My current enemy is Plank and all of its tortuous variations). I’m surprised to hear you used to do yoga since I know how much you like exercise that involves beating people up in one form or another ;)

  3. Funny you should be talking yoga. That’s a part of my new plan of action. Less crazy on the knees I think, welcome back. And there has been a lot of disappearances of bloggers lately I noticed. Welcome back!

    • People with all kinds of back, knee, etc issues come to yoga and a good instructor will help you modify poses so you don’t hurt yourself! I think after a while, a lot of bloggers get sidetracked with other things (darn you, real life). I used to feel compelled to post something several times a week, at least, but now I feel like I should post only when I have something to say. I mean, how many times can I expect people to tolerate my complaining about Walmart?

  4. Congrats! I am so happy for and jealous of you. I found yoga about 3 years ago and it completely changed everything. Both my mind and body are stronger and, just with breathing, I’ve been able to make it through some incredibly tough moments with grace and ease.

    Who knew what I had written off for so long as boring stretching could actually do all of that?

  5. Lisa, I can’t believe you’ve abandoned me and gone…and gone…HEALTHY!

    A friend/acquaintance came up to me on the treadmill a couple of weeks ago and tried to talk me into a new yoga class she was starting, but she was wearing yoga pants and it was obvious she knew what to do with them. That is just too intimidating to a sweatpanter like me who has the flexibility of a steel bar.

  6. Congrats! Yoga is one of the only things that got me through law school. It really is a gift. But it sounds like you’re experiencing that for yourself, which is just wonderful. Enjoy the journey!

  7. I loved your article and found it very entertaining. Definitely gave it a ‘like.’ If you want to read another blog full of silliness, try Begoodorbgoodatit.com

  8. Hi there! My name is Heather and I was wondering if you would be willing to answer a question I have about your blog! If you could email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com I would greatly appreciate it :-)

Leave a Reply

